## PIERANGELO GAREGNANI THESIS PRIZE 2022

Report of the Committee for the assignment of the Prize, composed of: prof. Roberto Ciccone, prof. Vincenzo Maffeo, prof. Riccardo Soliani

The Committee acknowledges that applications for the Pierangelo Garegnani Thesis Prize 2022 have been presented by the following candidates (in brackets the title of the doctoral thesis and the University where it was defended):

- Gabriel Ferraz Aidar (*Essays on economic policy from a Sraffian standpoint*, Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro)
- Ifeoluwa Tolulope Ajayi (*Capital flows, exchange rate and current account balance inNigeria* (1977-2017, Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife, Nigeria)
- Maria Cristina Barbieri Góes (Essays on effective demand. Why fiscal and distributive policies should rule the game: personal income inequality, taxation and financial instability in the Sraffian (hyper)multiplier model, Università Roma Tre)
- Erika Bragaglia (Essays on the net stable funding ratio and the negative interest rates policy, Università di Roma "Tor Vergata)
- Nikolaos Th. Chatzarakis (*Political economy of growth: the schemes of reproduction and their dynamics*, Aristoteleion University of Thessaloniki; thesis in Greek with English summary)
- Lorenzo Di Domenico (Business cycle e crescita in un'economia monetaria di produzione: l'impatto delle politiche fiscali e monetarie su output e finanza pubblica di lungo periodo, Università Roma Tre)
- Santiago Gahn (*Three essays on effective demand and capacity utilisation*, Università Roma Tre)
- Luca Gambarelli (Assessing market risk in the EU, Università di Modena e Reggio Emilia)
- Selamawit Girmai Araya (*La relazione tra investimenti diretti esteri e crescita: presupposti teorici, analisi empiriche e verifiche per tre distinti gruppi di economie*, Università Roma Tre)
- Alessandro Le Donne (*The complex link between individual agency and economic theory*, Univesità di Genova)
- Pedro Siqueira Machado (*The theory of international prices: a classical production-based approach*, The Open University, UK)
- Guilherme Spinato Morlin (*Essays on open economy macroeconomics*, Joint Phd of the Tuscan Universities)

Expressing satisfaction for the high quality of all the works, the Committee, basing its judgment on content, congruence with the lines of research developed by Pierangelo Garegnani and prospects for further work along these lines, awards the Pierangelo Garegnani Thesis Prize 2022 *ex aequo* to:

Dr Santiago Gahn and Dr Alessandro Le Donne

Centro Sraffa would like to thank all the young scholars who have presented their work and whose participation contributes to expressing the vitality of the orientation which inspires the Prize.

Rome, 1 March 2023

The Committee: Roberto Ciccone Vincenzo Maffeo Riccardo Soliani