PIERANGELO GAREGNANI THESIS PRIZE 2019

Report of the Committee for the assignment of the Prize, composed of: Professor Gary Mongiovi, Professor Roberto Ciccone, Professor Andres Lazzarini.

The Committee acknowledges that applications for the Pierangelo Garegnani Thesis Prize 2019 have been presented by the following candidates (in brackets the title of the doctoral thesis):

Chen Weikai (Three Essays on Inequality in Microeconomics, Umass Amherst);

Davila-Fernandez Marwil (Five Essays on Structural Change and Economic Dynamics, University of Siena);

Di Bucchianico Stefano (An Enquiry about the Secular Stagnation Theory, Roma Tre University);

Digby Alexandra (Political Economy, the Labour Theory of Value and the Chartist Movement, University of Cambridge);

Haas David (Technical Change and Differential Growth. Classical-Schumpeterian Models of Diffusion and Creative Destruction, University of Graz);

Iafrate Francesca (I valori dei moltiplicatori fiscali: premesse teoriche e analisi empirica, Roma Tre University);

Passoni Patiene Alves (Deindustrialization and Regressive Specialization in the Brazilian Economy between 2000 and 2014: a Critical Assessment based on the Input-Output Analysis, Federal University of Rio de Janeiro);

Salvati Luigi (Investimenti, prospettive e profittabilità nei modelli kaleckiani di accumulazione, Roma Tre University).

The Committee has examined the doctoral theses presented by the candidates listed above. Expressing satisfaction for the quality of all the works, the Committee, basing its judgment on the contents, expositive efficacy as well as congruence of the theses with the lines of research developed by Pierangelo Garegnani, formulates the following order for the first two positions:

1. Dr Alexandra Digby (ex aequo) and Dr Stefano Di Bucchianico (ex aequo)

Consequently, in accordance with the wishes of the family of Pierangelo Garegnani and as envisaged in the announcement of the 2019 Prize for the case of equal merit, the Committee assigns one Prize of € 3.000,00 to the two candidates placed *ex aequo* in the first position, namely Dr Alexandra Digby and Dr Stefano Di Bucchianico.

The Committee is pleased to point out that the selection of the winners was made complex by the high quality of all the works submitted, as the final decision itself shows. Centro Sraffa would like to thank all the young scholars who have presented their work and whose participation contributes to expressing the vitality of the orientation which inspires the Prize. Centro Sraffa announces the planning for January 2020 of the event in which the award ceremony will take place, together with the presentation of one or more contributions of a scientific and cultural nature.

Rome, 02 December 2019

The Committee: Gary Mongiovi Roberto Ciccone Andres Lazzarini