PIERANGELO GAREGNANI THESIS PRIZE 2021

Report of the Committee for the assignment of the Prize, composed of: prof. Roberto Ciccone, prof. Giovanni Bonifati, prof. Franklin Serrano

The Committee acknowledges that applications for the Pierangelo Garegnani Thesis Prize 2021 have been regularly presented by the following candidates (in brackets the title of the doctoral thesis and the affiliation of the candidate):

Samuele Bibi (The State again, Universities of Trento and Florence);

Andrea Borsato (Essays on secular stagnation in USA, Universities of Florence, Siena, and Pisa);

Santiago Gahn (Three essays on effective demand and capacity utilization, Roma Tre University);

Tumbenthung y Humtsoe (*Transport, cities, growth and environment: a case study of Kohima,* University of Hiderabad);

José Antonio Pérez Montiel (*Essays on macroeconomic dynamics: a Classical-Keynesian approach*, Universitat de les Illes Balears);

Davide Romaniello (*L'isteresi nella disoccupazione e il ruolo della disoccupazione di lunga durata quale causa delle rigidità salariali: un approccio critico*, Roma Tre University);

Giuliano Toshiro Yajima (*Three essays on Latin American Structuralism*, Sapienza Univerity of Rome);

Oriol Vallès Codina (*Economic production as life: a classical approach to computational social science*, New School for Social Research);

TsutomuYoshioka (Income distribution and economic dynamics, Meiji University).

The application of Mr Raffaele Guarino has not been evaluated due to lack of requisites set forth in the call, as the candidate has submitted a bachelor's thesis without giving indication that he is enrolled in a PhD program.

The Committee has examined the doctoral theses presented by the candidates listed above. Expressing satisfaction for the high quality of all the works, the Committee, basing its judgment on the contents, expositive efficacy as well as congruence with the lines of research developed by Pierangelo Garegnani, awards the Pierangelo Garegnani Thesis Prize 2021 to:

Dr Davide Romaniello

Centro Sraffa would like to thank all the young scholars who have presented their work and whose participation contributes to expressing the vitality of the orientation which inspires the Prize.

Rome, 14 December 2021

The Committee: Roberto Ciccone Giovanni Bonifati Franklin Serrano